Now Reading
Your Guide To Watching All ‘Conjuring’ Movies Accordingly

Your Guide To Watching All ‘Conjuring’ Movies Accordingly

The franchise of The Conjuring Films has been a popular choice for horror fans since its inception in the early 2000s. Drawing on the real-life experiences of Ed (Ed O’Brien) and Lorraine (Lorraine Warren), the films follow the lives of real-world paranormal investigators. The franchise has since expanded into a number of sequels, spin-offs, and prequels, each of which share a common cinematic universe. Demonstrations of demons, their origin, and the objects they seek to possess are all featured in the films. One such example is Annabelle, a demon doll, and the most awaited and intimidating Nun.

On the 8th of September, the most powerful demon in the wizarding world will make a reappearance, this time in the form of The Nun2.

The spin-off films of The Conjuring films, created by James Wan and produced by New Line Cinema in collaboration with the Safran Company and Atomic Monster, typically focus on aiding families in dealing with demons and demonic possessions. 

The spin-off films also provide an in-depth exploration of the back stories of certain demons encountered in the original films. One such spin-off is The Nun 2, which is set to follow the events of The Nun and will be released on September 8th, 2023.

 Binge-watching all The Conjuring films chronologically will not only make for an enjoyable horror fiesta but will also provide insight into the timeline of The Conjuring universe.

The Conjuring franchise comprises a total of nine movies. These include three The Conjuring films, three Annabelle movies, two The Nun movies (including the upcoming sequel), and The Curse of La Llorona.

Here are all of the films arranged chronologically.

1. The Nun (2018)

The Nun is a prequel and spin-off of The Conjuring franchise, set in the 1952 timeline of the franchise. The film, released in 2018, follows the investigation of a nun’s suicide by a priest and novice priest dispatched by the Vatican. As the investigation progresses, the priest and novice priest are confronted by a demon, Valak. The film serves as a sequel to The Conjuring II, which was released in 2016.

2. The Nun 2 (2023)

3. Annabelle Creation (2017)

Annabelle (Annabelle) is a 2017 horror film that tells the story of a group of young women who have been left behind after the death of their daughter. The film follows the lives of the girls and their sister, Sister Charlotte, as they relocate to the home of an ex-doll maker. Twelve years after the daughter’s passing, Janice (Janice) becomes ill and begins to have disturbing interactions with the doll. As the situation progresses, the doll maker’s past and his association with a demon that is attempting to take possession of a human host become increasingly apparent.

4. Annabelle (2014)

The first film in the series, Annabelle, is the third movie on the list if one is following the chronology of The Conjuring films. The story follows Mia and John, a young couple, as they are ambushed by cultists in their home. The attack leaves Mia with a traumatic experience, but the situation escalates when their neighbour’s adopted daughter, Janice, spills her blood on their antique doll, Annabelle. As strange occurrences begin to occur around their home, Mia and John come to the realization that Annabelle has become a vehicle for an evil spirit that seeks to possess Mia’s soul. In an effort to safeguard their lives and the unborn child, they enlist the help of experts with extensive knowledge of the supernatural.

5. The Conjuring (2013)

The Conjuring is widely regarded as one of the most influential horror films of the modern era, having been released in 2013. Based on real-life events, the story follows the journey of Ed and Lorraine, two renowned paranormal investigators, as they are called upon to assist the Perron family in their newly acquired home. As the supernatural occurrences unfold, the Warrens uncover a sinister past and a demon presence that is haunting the family, manifesting itself in visions and physical assaults. Confronting their own fears, the Warrens use their knowledge of the supernatural to rid the family of the forces of evil.

6. Annabelle Comes Home (2019)

Annabelle Comes Home is the next film in the Annabelle timeline. Set to be released in 2019, the movie follows the journey of Ed and Lorraine’s daughter, Judy, as she is targeted by Annabelle, a haunted doll held by the Warrens and stored in their Occult Art Room. When a friend of Judy’s babysitter inadvertently releases the doll’s malicious spirit, all occupants of the Warren residence become targets. As supernatural activity begins to spread throughout the residence, Judy, her babysitter, Mary Ellen, and Daniela must confront a variety of ghoul entities released from the room. Battling against the growing threat of haunted artefacts, the girls must find a way to restrain Annabelle and prevent the demons from reclaiming their souls.

7. The Curse of La Llarona (2019)

The film, which is another installment in The Conjuring series of horror franchises, is loosely based on Latin American folklore and is set in 1973. The plot follows the story of Anna, a young mother in Los Angeles, California, who is urged to safeguard her two young children from a specter known as “La Llorona”. As the haunting worsens, she turns to Father Perez, a priest with a long history of dealing with supernatural occurrences, for assistance. Together, the two of them confront the powerful spirit and strive to safeguard Anna’s children from its evil influence.

8. The Conjuring 2 (2016)

The Conjuring 2 is a supernatural horror film based on real-life events, released in 2016. The plot follows the journey of paranormal investigators Ed (Ed) and Lorraine (Lorraine) as they investigate the haunting of a single mother, Peggy (Peggy) Hodgson (Lorraine), and her children in Enfield (London). The hauntings focus on Peggy’s youngest daughter, Janet (Janet), who has been targeted by an elderly man’s spirit. The Warrens uncover the true nature of the haunting, leading them to become the next victims of the evil spirit. In a battle for time, the Warrens must confront the forces of evil and protect the Hodgins family from unrelenting suffering.

9. The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021)

The latest instalment in the franchise, The Devil Made me Do It, follows Ed and Lorraine as they investigate the case of David Glatzel, a young boy who has been possessed by evil spirits. After an exorcism has been performed on David, his friend Arne Johnson, who is David’s sister’s friend, is targeted by the forces of evil. Arne commits a heinous murder while asserting possession as his defense, and the Warrens are called upon to prove the presence of evil spirits in a court of law. As they uncover the sinful nature of the entity, they are confronted with increasingly hazardous supernatural occurrences and must once again put their lives on the line to protect innocent people from the evil spirit.

Indo Thai News Co. Ltd. © 2024  All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top