Now Reading
ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

The ICC Men’s Cricket 2023 will be the thirteenth edition of the Cricket World Cup, an annual quadrennial ODI tournament featuring men’s national teams, hosted by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The tournament is scheduled to take place in India between 5 October and 19 November 2023, initially planned for February and March 2023 but was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Hosted by India, the tournament will feature a total of Ten teams, including the reigning champions, England, who will be defending their 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup title. This will mark the first time a men’s cricket World Cup will be hosted exclusively by India, after co-hosting the event with other subcontinent nations on three previous occasions (1987 (India & Pakistan), 1996 (India, Pakistan, & Sri Lanka), and 2011 (India, Sri Lanka, & Bangladesh) ). 

The final is set for 19 November 2023 in the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The other two semi-finals will be held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

The 2023 World Cup will be broadcast live in India by Star Sports and Disney+ Hotstar.


The competition was initially scheduled to take place between 9 February and 26 March 2023, however, in July 2020, it was announced that the tournament had been postponed to October and November due to the disruption of the qualification schedule due to COVID-19. On 27 June 2023, the International Cricket Council (ICC) released the tournament schedule.

The PCB had previously threatened to withhold its participation in the competition after the BCCI declined to send a national team to the Asia Cup scheduled for the year 2023 in Pakistan. However, this was rectified in June 2023, when the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced that the Asia Cup would be hosted by the PCB using a hybrid model, with nine out of the 13 matches taking place in Sri Lanka.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) board council has made a number of modifications to the World Cup scheduling process, with the most anticipated match between India and Pakistan being shifted to October 15 due to the commencement of Navratri festivities. Security measures would have been hindered if the match had been held on the original date. The International Cricket Council and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have requested the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to reschedule two of its Group matches, including the match against India at Ahmedabad.

ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule 2023- Tournament Venues

The tournament will be held in ten venues across the country, spread over a period of 1 month and 21 days from September 29th to November 19. The venues for the tournament will be: Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Mumbai and in Kolkata, in addition to the two venues in Hyderabad and Guwahati.

The pre-play-off matches will be held in the cities of Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram, and Hyderabad (hosting the match from 29 September) to 3 October.


India will participate in the tournament in a single-elimination format, wherein each team will play one match against each other. The top-four teams will then advance to the semi-finals, with the victors of these matches joining the final. 

The tournament will commence on October 8, with India’s first match against Australia, the defending champions, in Chennai. Following this, India will have to face a series of qualifiers, including the Afghanistan National Cricket Team, Pakistan National Cricket Team, Bangladesh National Cricket Team, New Zealand National Cricket Team, England National Cricket Team, Qualifier Two, South Africa National Cricket Team and Qualifier One. 

The tournament will culminate in the final, which will take place on November 19th, at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. The provisional schedule may be subject to change; the final date will be announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in the run-up to the tournament.

However, due to certain festivals and rescheduling, numerous alterations were made to certain fixtures.

Past Cricket World Cup Winners Country Wise

The ICC World Cup is a renowned cricket tournament that brings together all national teams from around the world. This article will also discuss the past champions of this remarkable event.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List
Year Host Winner Runner-up Result
1975 England West Indies Australia West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies England West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India West Indies India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia England Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka Australia Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia Pakistan Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia India Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India Sri Lanka India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England New Zealand The match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count
2023 India TBA TBA TBA


Indo Thai News Co. Ltd. © 2024  All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top